Frankly in Love: Dilemma between Right and Easy Choice

9781984816498Title/Judul: Frankly in Love
Author/Penulis: David Yoon
Publisher/Penerbit: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Pub Date/Tanggal Terbit: 10th September 2019
Review copy from @prhinternational

Synopsis/Sinopsis:
Two friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go wrong?

Frank Li has two names. There’s Frank Li, his American name. Then there’s Sung-Min Li, his Korean name. No one uses his Korean name, not even his parents. Frank barely speaks any Korean. He was born and raised in Southern California.

Even so, his parents still expect him to end up with a nice Korean girl–which is a problem, since Frank is finally dating the girl of his dreams: Brit Means. Brit, who is funny and nerdy just like him. Brit, who makes him laugh like no one else. Brit . . . who is white.

As Frank falls in love for the very first time, he’s forced to confront the fact that while his parents sacrificed everything to raise him in the land of opportunity, their traditional expectations don’t leave a lot of room for him to be a regular American teen. Desperate to be with Brit without his parents finding out, Frank turns to family friend Joy Song, who is in a similar bind. Together, they come up with a plan to help each other and keep their parents off their backs. Frank thinks he’s found the solution to all his problems, but when life throws him a curveball, he’s left wondering whether he ever really knew anything about love—or himself—at all.

In this moving debut novel—featuring striking blue stained edges and beautiful original endpaper art by the author—David Yoon takes on the question of who am I? with a result that is humorous, heartfelt, and ultimately unforgettable.

Pada tahun terakhirnya di SMA, Frank Li, seorang Limbo—istilah yang dia pakai untuk menyebut anak-anak Korea-Amerika—terjebak di antara ekspektasi orangtua yang tradisional dan kehidupan modern California Selatan. Orangtuanya punya satu aturan dalam pacaran—“Hanya boleh dengan orang Korea”—yang menjadi rumit ketika Frank menaksir Brit Means, yang cerdas, cantik—dan berkulit putih.

Sebagai sesama Limbo, Joy Song juga terjebak dalam masalah yang sama dan mereka membuat perjanjian: mereka akan pura-pura pacaran supaya bisa mendapat sedikit kebebasan. Frank merasa rencananya sempurna, tapi pada akhirnya, taktik pura-pura pacaran ini membuat Frank bertanya-tanya apakah dia benar-benar mengerti apa itu cinta—atau siapa dirinya

add-to-goodreads
bookdepository-button_web
Read More »

Advertisements

Spin The Dawn Blog Tour + Giveaway

Spin the Dawn (2019)Title/Judul: Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars #1)
Author/Penulis: Elizabeth Lim
Publisher/Penerbit: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pub Date/Tanggal Terbit: 9 July 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis/Sinopsis:

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.
Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Buku fantasi YA yang menghanyutkan ini merupakan gabungan Project Runway dan Mulan. Buku ini mengisahkan seorang gadis muda yang menyamar sebagai bocah laki-laki untuk bersaing memperebutkan status penjahit kaisar dan memulai perjalanan yang mustahil untuk menjahit tiga gaun ajaib, yang terbuat dari matahari, bulan, dan bintang-bintang.

Maia Tamarin bermimpi menjadi penjahit terhebat di negeri ini, tetapi sebagai seorang gadis, yang terbaik yang bisa ia harapkan adalah menikah dengan tenang. Ketika seorang utusan kerajaan memanggil ayahnya yang sakit, yang pernah menjadi penjahit terkenal, ke pengadilan, Maia pun menyamar sebagai anak lelaki dan menggantikannya. Dia tahu nyawanya akan melayang jika rahasianya terungkap, tetapi dia  mengambil risiko tersebut untuk mencapai mimpinya dan menyelamatkan keluarganya dari kehancuran. Tantangannya: Maia harus menjadi yang terbaik diantara dua belas penjahit hebat yang berlomba untuk menjadi penjahit kaisar.

Pengkhianatan dan kebohongan merajalela saat pertandingan untuk membuktikan keahlian dan keterampilan mereka sebagai penjahit. Tugas Maia semakin rumit ketika dia menarik perhatian penyihir istana, Edan, yang memiliki mata yang tajam dan seolah langsung membongkar penyamarannya.

Dan tidak ada yang bisa mempersiapkannya untuk tantangan terakhir: menjahit tiga gaun ajaib untuk calon pengantin kaisar: dari tawa matahari, air mata bulan, dan darah bintang-bintang. Dengan tugas yang mustahil di hadapannya ini, dia memulai perjalanan ke penjuru kerajaan, mencari matahari, bulan, dan bintang-bintang, dan menemukan lebih dari yang bisa dia bayangkan.

free-icons_png_512_1782229 goodreadsamazonbookdepo

Read More »