Spin The Dawn Blog Tour + Giveaway

Spin the Dawn (2019)Title/Judul: Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars #1)
Author/Penulis: Elizabeth Lim
Publisher/Penerbit: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pub Date/Tanggal Terbit: 9 July 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis/Sinopsis:

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.
Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Buku fantasi YA yang menghanyutkan ini merupakan gabungan Project Runway dan Mulan. Buku ini mengisahkan seorang gadis muda yang menyamar sebagai bocah laki-laki untuk bersaing memperebutkan status penjahit kaisar dan memulai perjalanan yang mustahil untuk menjahit tiga gaun ajaib, yang terbuat dari matahari, bulan, dan bintang-bintang.

Maia Tamarin bermimpi menjadi penjahit terhebat di negeri ini, tetapi sebagai seorang gadis, yang terbaik yang bisa ia harapkan adalah menikah dengan tenang. Ketika seorang utusan kerajaan memanggil ayahnya yang sakit, yang pernah menjadi penjahit terkenal, ke pengadilan, Maia pun menyamar sebagai anak lelaki dan menggantikannya. Dia tahu nyawanya akan melayang jika rahasianya terungkap, tetapi dia  mengambil risiko tersebut untuk mencapai mimpinya dan menyelamatkan keluarganya dari kehancuran. Tantangannya: Maia harus menjadi yang terbaik diantara dua belas penjahit hebat yang berlomba untuk menjadi penjahit kaisar.

Pengkhianatan dan kebohongan merajalela saat pertandingan untuk membuktikan keahlian dan keterampilan mereka sebagai penjahit. Tugas Maia semakin rumit ketika dia menarik perhatian penyihir istana, Edan, yang memiliki mata yang tajam dan seolah langsung membongkar penyamarannya.

Dan tidak ada yang bisa mempersiapkannya untuk tantangan terakhir: menjahit tiga gaun ajaib untuk calon pengantin kaisar: dari tawa matahari, air mata bulan, dan darah bintang-bintang. Dengan tugas yang mustahil di hadapannya ini, dia memulai perjalanan ke penjuru kerajaan, mencari matahari, bulan, dan bintang-bintang, dan menemukan lebih dari yang bisa dia bayangkan.

free-icons_png_512_1782229 goodreadsamazonbookdepo

Read More »

Advertisements

Rahasia Diary Pegon

37756176

Judul/Title: Rahasia Diary Pegon
Penulis/Author: Machtumah Malayati
Penyunting/Editor: Muhajjah Saratini
Sampul/Cover: Amalina
Cetakan/Edition: Pertama, Januari 2018/First, January 2018
Jumlah halaman/Number of pages: 231
Penerbit/Publisher: DIVA Press

Sinopsis/Synopsis:
Nur Laila tidak tahan lagi.
Ia baru saja kehilangan ayah ketika diminta untuk ke rumah keluarga ibunya di sebuah desa yang untuk mendapatkan sinyal saja susahnya minta ampun.

Tidak ada keriuhan kota seperti di Surabaya, hanya ada suara anak-anak mengaji di sore hari. Belum lagi sikap neneknya, Mbah Bin, yang tampaknya sama sekali tidak sayang kepadanya.

Ketika berkemas hendak hidup sendiri di Surabaya, Farid, sepupunya, terbata membaca sebuah buku. Diary Nihayah. Artinya, itu buku diary ibunya. Laila sangat terharu. Ia bisa dikatakan tidak mengenal ibunya yang meninggal setelah melahirkannya itu. Tapi, buku itu ditulis dalam huruf yang tidak Laila mengerti. Itu seperti huruf Arab yang dipelajarinya saat mengaji.

Tidak jadi pergi, Laila bertekad untuk bisa membaca sendiri diary ibunya tersebut. Bermula hanya ingin mengenal karakter ibunya, Laila justru menemukan rahasia mengejutkan.

Rahasia apa sebenarnya yang disimpan oleh diary berhuruf aneh tersebut?

Nur Laila could not take it anymore.
She had just lost his father then she has to move to her mother family’s home in a village where it is hard to get a signal.

This village is so different from vibrant Surabaya, she only hears children’s studying Quran voice in the afternoon. Not to mention the attitude of her grandmother, Mbah Bin, who seems totally unloving.

When she decided to go back to Surabaya, Farid, her cousin, found Diary Nihayah, her mother’s diary. Laila was deeply moved. Her mother died after giving birth so she did not know her. Unfortunately,  the book was written in a letter that Laila did not understand. It’s like the Arabic letters that she learned when she was studying.

Laila was determined to be able to read her own mother’s diary. She just wants to know her’s mother’s personality, but Laila found a surprising secret.

What kind of secrets are stored by the strange-lettered diary?

add-to-goodreads
Read More »