Spin The Dawn Blog Tour + Giveaway

Spin the Dawn (2019)Title/Judul: Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars #1)
Author/Penulis: Elizabeth Lim
Publisher/Penerbit: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pub Date/Tanggal Terbit: 9 July 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis/Sinopsis:

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.
Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Buku fantasi YA yang menghanyutkan ini merupakan gabungan Project Runway dan Mulan. Buku ini mengisahkan seorang gadis muda yang menyamar sebagai bocah laki-laki untuk bersaing memperebutkan status penjahit kaisar dan memulai perjalanan yang mustahil untuk menjahit tiga gaun ajaib, yang terbuat dari matahari, bulan, dan bintang-bintang.

Maia Tamarin bermimpi menjadi penjahit terhebat di negeri ini, tetapi sebagai seorang gadis, yang terbaik yang bisa ia harapkan adalah menikah dengan tenang. Ketika seorang utusan kerajaan memanggil ayahnya yang sakit, yang pernah menjadi penjahit terkenal, ke pengadilan, Maia pun menyamar sebagai anak lelaki dan menggantikannya. Dia tahu nyawanya akan melayang jika rahasianya terungkap, tetapi dia  mengambil risiko tersebut untuk mencapai mimpinya dan menyelamatkan keluarganya dari kehancuran. Tantangannya: Maia harus menjadi yang terbaik diantara dua belas penjahit hebat yang berlomba untuk menjadi penjahit kaisar.

Pengkhianatan dan kebohongan merajalela saat pertandingan untuk membuktikan keahlian dan keterampilan mereka sebagai penjahit. Tugas Maia semakin rumit ketika dia menarik perhatian penyihir istana, Edan, yang memiliki mata yang tajam dan seolah langsung membongkar penyamarannya.

Dan tidak ada yang bisa mempersiapkannya untuk tantangan terakhir: menjahit tiga gaun ajaib untuk calon pengantin kaisar: dari tawa matahari, air mata bulan, dan darah bintang-bintang. Dengan tugas yang mustahil di hadapannya ini, dia memulai perjalanan ke penjuru kerajaan, mencari matahari, bulan, dan bintang-bintang, dan menemukan lebih dari yang bisa dia bayangkan.

free-icons_png_512_1782229 goodreadsamazonbookdepo

Read More »

Advertisements

The Traveling Cat Chronicles

TitTraveling Cat Chronicles Indonesia edle/Judul: The Traveling Cat Chronicles
Author/Penulis: Arikawa Hiro
Publisher/Penerbit: Penerbit Haru
Pub Date/Tanggal Terbit: May 2019

Synopsis/Sinopsis:

Aku adalah seekor kucing. Dia adalah pemuda penggila kucing.

“Kau selalu tidur di sini?”

Kenapa, mau protes?

“Manisnya….”

Memang. Banyak yang bilang begitu.

“Boleh kusentuh?”

Maaf saja, tidak boleh.

Kukira dia hanya akan jadi satu dari sekian banyak orang yang cuma lewat dalam kehidupanku sebagai kucing liar.

Akan tetapi, dia menyelamatkan nyawaku. Sebagai gantinya, aku biarkan dia memeliharaku, karena aku ini kucing yang manis.

Setelah lima tahun kami bersama, Satoru harus mencari orang untuk mengadopsiku karena satu dan lain hal.

Maka, kami berdua pun memulai sebuah perjalanan panjang mengendarai mobil wagon perak kesukaanku ke berbagai penjuru negeri untuk menemui teman-teman lama Satoru.

Akan tetapi, ada satu hal yang Satoru sembunyikan dariku….

It’s not the journey that counts, but who’s at your side.

Nana is on a road trip, but he is not sure where he is going. All that matters is that he can sit beside his beloved owner Satoru in the front seat of his silver van. Satoru is keen to visit three old friends from his youth, though Nana doesn’t know why and Satoru won’t say.

Set against the backdrop of Japan’s changing seasons and narrated with a rare gentleness and humour, Nana’s story explores the wonder and thrill of life’s unexpected detours. It is about the value of friendship and solitude, and knowing when to give and when to take. TRAVELLING CAT has already demonstrated its power to move thousands of readers with a message of kindness and truth. It shows, above all, how acts of love, both great and small, can transform our lives.

 

add-to-goodreads

Read More »